Skip to content

gb_nged_ltds_table3

NGED LTDS Table 3: firm capacity and demand

Published by National Grid Electricity Distribution / GB / Twice a year

Grantedcommercial_use_with_attributionHealthy

Firm capacity (MVA) of every NGED BSP and primary substation in the East Midlands, West Midlands, South Wales and South West, with its measured maximum demand and five years of forecast demand, and the demand headroom we derive from them.

NGED LTDS Table 3: firm capacity and demand on a map

The 2,116 located assets in this publication, coloured by the spare capacity National Grid Electricity Distribution publishes for each today. Click a point for its figure.

The map of Europe →

Loading the map…

What is withheld, and why

Nothing is withheld. Values are served with the attribution the licence asks for: Supported by NGED Open Data. GSP regions: Supported by National Energy SO Open Data. Keep it with any figure you show.

The LTDS Tabular Model is classified Open (dataclassification Open, license_id wpd-open-data, isopen true), and NGED's Open Data Licence applies to data sets marked as provided on an 'Open' basis; it allows commercial use and derived products with the attribution above. The owner also reported on 2026-10-02 that NGED gave permission by telephone. Locations are points inside NESO's GSP regions (GSP_regions_4326_20260209), computed once and kept in the adapter; the NESO Open Data Licence asks for its own attribution statement, included above.

Licence and rights evidence

Attribution
Supported by NGED Open Data. GSP regions: Supported by National Energy SO Open Datarequired
Technical access
Yes
Commercial use
Yes
May be cached
Yes
May be redistributed
Yes
Derived data allowed
Yes

Evidence

Methodology

2 version(s)

NGED Long Term Development Statement, Table 3: firm capacity of substation

gb_nged_ltds_table3 · vLTDS Tabular Model, Table 3 (table-3-2025.csv)

NGED's Long Term Development Statement, prepared under its licence and Ofgem's Form of Statement, lists per BSP and primary substation the firm capacity (the capacity that remains with the largest single circuit or transformer out of service), the measured maximum demand of the current year and a five-year demand forecast in line with NGED's Distribution Future Energy Scenarios.

Capacity basis
operator published
Network state
n minus 1
Binding
No
Additive across assets
No. Do not sum these figures.
The method accounts for
reserved: not stated · allocated: not stated · pre-reserved: not stated · pending requests: not stated
Comparability class
gb_ltds_table3_firm_capacity

The operator’s own caveats

  • The LTDS is intended to assist parties in identifying and assessing opportunities on NGED's network; it is not an offer of capacity.

Demand headroom derived by GridCapacity API from NGED LTDS Table 3

gb_nged_ltds_table3_headroom · v1

Firm Capacity of Substation (MVA) minus Current Year Max Demand (MW) divided by Current Year Power Factor, per BSP and primary substation, to three decimals. A figure we compute from NGED's published values, not one NGED publishes; it ignores contracted but not yet connected demand, generation, and any upstream constraint.

Capacity basis
derived
Network state
n minus 1
Binding
No
Additive across assets
No. Do not sum these figures.
The method accounts for
reserved: not stated · allocated: not stated · pre-reserved: not stated · pending requests: not stated
Comparability class
gb_ltds_table3_derived_headroom

The operator’s own caveats

  • Derived by GridCapacity API, not published by NGED. For a connection, ask NGED.
  • Contracted demand that is not yet connected is not subtracted, so the figure can overstate the room left.

How the publication maps to the model

availability types
["total","available"]
binding
false
directions
["offtake"]
firmness
["firm"]
geometry precision
region
includes reserved projects
null
non additive
true
notes
["One asset per Table 3 row that is not marked Removed: a primary substation, or a BSP where the Primary Substation column reads \"-\". The id is licence and node (\"EMIDS:DUNP7_BB_1_2\"); a node code repeats across licence areas and, seven times, within one, so a colliding row also carries its substation name.","Firm Capacity of Substation (MVA) is NGED's published figure, kept as availability total, firmness firm; \"-\" is kept as an unknown value with NGED's label.","Demand headroom is not published in Table 3. We derive it: firm capacity less the current year's maximum demand (MW) divided by its power factor, in MVA, methodology gb_nged_ltds_table3_headroom. It is not derived where the firm capacity is 0 or \"-\" (a single-transformer site, or a capacity NGED books on a sibling transformer row) or where the power factor is 0.","Measured maximum demand, power factor, the five forecast years (MW) and the minimum demand scaling factor are NGED's own facts, kept as asset attributes and, for the derived value, in its details.","NGED does not publish substation coordinates openly. Each asset is placed at a point inside the NESO GSP region of its GSP group (geometry_precision region), so every substation of one GSP group shares a point. Stoke Bardolph and Grange have no NESO region and are not placed.","Generation headroom cannot be derived from Table 3 and is not offered."]
spatial scope
substation
technologies
["generic_load"]
units
["MVA"]

Query this source

curl "https://api.gridcapacityapi.com/v1/capacity/search?source=gb_nged_ltds_table3&limit=20" \  -H "Authorization: Bearer gc_live_..."