Skip to content
GridCapacityAPI.com

be_elia_substations

Elia Open Data — Referential of the Belgian high-voltage substations (ods121)

Published by Elia Transmission Belgium · BE · Monthly

Grantedcommercial_use_with_attributionHealthy

Elia's 380 kV substations and interconnection points with their long names and locations, keyed by the same site mnemonic as the hosting-capacity map. An asset register without capacity values.

What is withheld, and why

Nothing is withheld. Values are served with the attribution the licence asks for: Source: Elia Transmission Belgium SA – Elia Open Data (opendata.elia.be), CC BY 4.0. Keep it with any figure you show.

The portal's licence field for every dataset is 'Elia Open Data Licence', whose page states CC BY 4.0; a run notes it if the dataset's licence field ever changes. CC BY 4.0 §3(a) also asks for a link to the dataset and an indication of changes.

Licence and rights evidence

Attribution
Source: Elia Transmission Belgium SA – Elia Open Data (opendata.elia.be), CC BY 4.0required
Technical access
Yes
Commercial use
Yes
May be cached
Yes
May be redistributed
Yes
Derived data allowed
Yes

Evidence

Methodology

1 version(s)

Elia substation referential (names and locations)

be_elia_substations_referential · vods121 (modified 2025-05-01)

Elia's list of the Belgian 380 kV grid substations and interconnections with their geographic location, as published on its open-data portal. No capacity is stated.

Capacity basis
operator published
Network state
unknown
Binding
No
Additive across assets
No — do not sum these figures
The method accounts for
reserved: not stated · allocated: not stated · pre-reserved: not stated · pending requests: not stated
Comparability class
be_elia_substation_referential

How the publication maps to the model

availability types
[]
binding
false
directions
["unknown"]
firmness
[]
geometry precision
exact
includes reserved projects
null
non additive
true
notes
["Asset-only: 38 rows, no capacity. Its value is the long names (ACHEN = ACHENE, MERCA = MERCATOR) and points of Elia's 380 kV sites, under the identifier elia_site that the hosting-capacity map's sites also carry.","assettype is 'Stations' (27) or 'Fake point' (11). Seven fake points have hyphenated ids naming two sites (HORTA-MERCA, DOEL-MERCA, …) and coordinates rounded to one or two decimals: schematic line midpoints, not substations; they are skipped and counted. The other four are real 150 kV substations the hosting-capacity map lists (VERBR = VERBRANDE BRUG, RODEN = RODENHUIZE, LINT, DROGE = DROGENBOS): they are kept for their names but without a location, since Elia calls the point fake and RODEN's is about 5 km off; the point is kept in attributes.schematic_point.","Seven 'Stations' are foreign ends of interconnections (LONNY, MASTA, AVELI, RILND, MAASB, ALEGR, NEMO); the dataset states neither country nor owner, so they are kept as published.","The field description of geopoint mentions Lambert 72, but the values are WGS84 lon/lat and are stored as EPSG:4326."]
spatial scope
substation
technologies
[]
units
["count"]

Query this source

curl "https://api.gridcapacityapi.com/v1/capacity/search?source=be_elia_substations&limit=20" \  -H "Authorization: Bearer gc_live_..."